Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Non-small cell lung cancer is the most common type of lung cancer diagnosis, accounting for about 85% of all cases. 

Types of Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Each type of non-small cell lung cancer has different kinds of cancer cells. The cancer cells of each type grow and spread in different ways. The types of non-small cell lung cancer are named for the kinds of cells found in the cancer and how the cells look under a microscope:

  • Squamous cell carcinoma: Cancer that begins in squamous cells, which are flat cells that line the inside of the lung’s airways. This is also called epidermoid carcinoma.
  • Large cell carcinoma: Cancer that may begin in several types of large cells and can develop anywhere in the lung.
  • Adenocarcinoma: Cancer that begins in the outer region of the lung, in cells that line the alveoli (tiny air sacs where the exchange of oxygen and carbon dioxide takes place).

Other less common types of non-small cell lung cancer are: pleomorphic, carcinoid tumor, salivary gland carcinoma, and unclassified carcinoma.

View our other pages to learn more about non-small cell lung cancer:

Our lung cancer doctors at Willamette Valley Cancer Institute (WVCI) specialize in non-small cell lung cancer and are here to help if you have been diagnosed. Request an appointment at one of our conveniently located cancer centers. We are located across Willamette Valley in Corvallis, Eugene, Florence, and Lincoln City.

New call-to-action

Request an

Meet Our